Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance) (Stock Code: 00144)

DISCLOSEABLE TRANSACTION

EXECUTION OF THE CONCESSION AGREEMENT IN RELATION TO HAMBANTOTA PORT, SRI LANKA

Reference is made to the announcement of China Merchants Port Holdings Company Limited (the "**Company**") dated 25 July 2017 (the "**Previous Announcement**") in respect of the potential discloseable transaction in relation to the Concession Agreement concerning the development, management and operation of the Hambantota Port in Sri Lanka. Capitalised terms used but not otherwise defined in this announcement have the same meanings given to them in the Previous Announcement.

The Board is pleased to announce that on 29 July 2017, the Company entered into the Concession Agreement with SLPA, GOSL, HIPG and HIPS, details of the terms of the Concession Agreement were set out in the Previous Announcement.

Since the applicable percentage ratios set out in Rule 14.07 of the Listing Rules in respect of the total investment amount to be paid by the Company (by itself or through its affiliates or partners) under the Concession Agreement exceed 5% but are below 25%, the Concession Agreement and the transactions contemplated thereunder constitute a discloseable transaction of the Company and is subject to the notification and announcement requirements under Chapter 14 of the Listing Rules.

By Order of the Board China Merchants Port Holdings Company Limited Li Xiaopeng Chairman

Hong Kong, 30 July 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. Li Xiaopeng, Mr. Hu Jianhua, Mr. Wang Hong, Mr. Hua Li, Mr. Bai Jingtao, Mr. Wang Zhixian, Mr. Zheng Shaoping and Ms. Shi Wei as executive directors; and Mr. Kut Ying Hay, Mr. Lee Yip Wah Peter, Mr. Li Kwok Heem John, Mr. Li Ka Fai David and Mr. Bong Shu Ying Francis as independent non-executive directors.